Eyes don’t lie

I have always had a fascination with eyes, there’s just something so unique and special about them, from the colour, the shape, to the size.  I had never realised how much, the shape and type of the eye matters when it comes to applying eye makeup, I can’t believe it never occurred to me.  I rarely wear eyeshadow because I feel that I look strange with it on ahaha.  So I did some research into my eye shape and what works for me.  I’m happy I did this because I have realised that I was doing nothing for my eye shape.

After researching into my eye shape I came to the conclusion that I have wide-set, slightly hooded/protruding eyes.  I used diagrams, pictures and examples as guidance…

eyeshape

(picture taken from tumblr.com)

eye-shape-makeup-tips1

(taken from www.mookychick.co.uk)

I also found out that I was applying my shadow to far across my eye and I need to take it more vertical.  Before i looked into eye shapes i applied my eye makeup like this….

image8

Looking back at how i used to apply my eyeshadow i can see where i was going slightly wrong.  The way i had applied the eyeshadow in these picture give my eyes no definition, shape or depth.

On my last night out I put my research into action and tested out what i had learnt.  I absolutely love the results. I feel that with this bit of guidance I could try all different colours and styles.

image1

To achieve this look, I started with a sample of urban decay primer…

image1 copy

This primer is awesome by the way.  I’m thinking of purchasing it.  This sample comes with a variety of different primers to try.  I used the colour Sin which is a nice golden shimmery colour, it really makes a nice base.

i also used my Sleek palette…

image5

purple no.7 metallic eye pencil and MUA pencil in blue…

image7

and for contour i used my Sleek contour palette…

image2 copy

Instead of using a black liner to finish I wanted a brighter look, so I used the blue eyeliner by MUA to line my eyes and blended with a purple liner from No.7.

image6

(ignore the brows :-|, haha)

I personally feel that this colour and style of application makes my eyes pop, look much bigger and brighter.

Untitledimage2

(on my lips I’m wearing an e.l.f  lipstick, colour Voodoo)

I love this look and can’t wait to try other colours, with my new knowledge 🙂

Thanks for stopping by 🙂

Untitled



About Kimberley Stewart

KimsTag is a #beauty, #fashion and #lifestyle #blog by Kimberley Stewart. Kimberley is an avid digital marketing student from Manchester having studied her undergraduate degree in advertising and Masters in #Marketing at The University of Salford.
This entry was posted in beauty, eye makeup, eyes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Eyes don’t lie

  1. iamserenel says:

    Such a Pretty Makeup Look! I love eyes too 🙊❤️💋 xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is an absolutely awesome and helpful post! Thanks for sharing!!

    Anyhoo, I found you through a fellow blogger and thought I would just stop by and say hello! It would totally make my day if you did the same… or better yet, keep in touch! ❤ – http://www.domesticgeekgirl.com

    Like

  3. Jen says:

    So gorgeous! Well done!

    Like

Leave a Reply

